Ming Dynasty

We have discussed earlier the Contributions Of the Ming Dynasty. They had a foothold in every Chinese Monument like The Great Wall of China and the Forbidden City. The Ming Dynasty ruled from 1368 to 1644. Almost 13 Kings Served during this TimeLine. The Ming Dynasty Decided to Built a mausoleum for Each king and also a collection of Artifacts during his period. The First Tomb was Built near Nanjing, But Later all the Other Tombs are located near Beijing.

Ming Dynasty History

The First Tomb of Ming Dynasty Emperor Yongle Emperor and his Empress was built in Nanjing in 1424. Later On, another 12 kings were buried in this Location, and Tombs were Constructed.

The Kings and Their Imperial Tombs Date

  • Chang Ling Mausoleum 1424
  • Xian Ling Mausoleum 1425
  • Jing Ling Mausoleum 1435
  • Yu Ling Mausoleum 1449
  • Mao Ling Mausoleum 1487
  • Tai Ling Mausoleum 1505
  • Kang Ling Mausoleum 1521
  • Yong Ling Mausoleum 1566
  • Zhao Ling Mausoleum 1572
  • Qing Ling Mausoleum 1620
  • Ding Ling Mausoleum 1620
  • De Ling Mausoleum 1627
  • Si Ling Mausoleum 1644

Qing Dynasty Tomb Location

The First Tomb was in Nanjing and now the Majority of tombs are near Beijing. The Tombs are located in Changping District, Beijing Municipality. It is only 42 km from the city of Beijing. After the Completion of Forbidden City in 1420, The Yongle emperor selected the Site and Created his own Burial.


Ming Dynasty

The Imperial Tombs belong to both Ming and Qing Dynasties, Unesco Granted World Heritage Site Status based on Cultural Category in 2000.